How to schedule the destruction of your Gmail account before you die


How to schedule the destruction of your Gmail account before you die



What happens after death is something we cannot know, but we can be sure that our email account will remain active. Unless we do something to remedy it. Gmail email accounts have an option that allows you to schedule the disappearance of the same once the owner has died.


Google, through its Inactive Account Manager, undertakes not to use the information or data from the accounts of deceased persons. By activating this function, and once the profile is deleted, there will be no trace of the information stored there on the company's servers. Planning the self-destruction of your Gmail account for when you are dead is, after all, another way to leave everything tied and well tied for when you are gone. Although there is also the option of putting yourself in "do not disturb" mode.


Here we explain how you can activate, easily and quickly, this tool. Of course, Google cannot tell when you have died, but it is based on inactivity and disuse of the account for a certain period. Once it has elapsed, Google considers you dead and will proceed to delete your Gmail account.


- Inactive Account Manager: Log in to your Google account and go to the Inactive Account Manager by following this link.


-Start: Click on the blue box that says “Start”, and Google will take you to a new screen.


 -Idle time: Now you can choose after how much time of inactivity Google has permission to delete your Gmail account. By default, a period of 3 months is selected, but it can be 6, 12 or 18.


-Phone number and email: Google forces you to enter a phone number to try to communicate with you after that time has elapsed. At the end of the period, Google will try to contact you by email and SMS. If they do not receive a response, they will assume that you will not use your email account again.


-Next contact: Next, Google will ask you if you want to share your account data with someone close to you before it is closed. You can choose a maximum of ten people, who will receive the notification that your account is going to be deactivated and will have access to part of your data.


-Confirm: Now you just have to confirm and accept the Google conditions. Once all this is done, Google agrees to close your account once the agreed period has elapsed.

تعليقات
ليست هناك تعليقات
إرسال تعليق



    وضع القراءة :
    حجم الخط
    +
    16
    -
    تباعد السطور
    +
    2
    -